If you want to run a business or event where alcohol is sold, it’s important to consider getting your Monroe County liquor license or beer and wine license. The process may be complicated and involves a lot of steps, but it is still important to educate yourself on the requirements in order for the application process to be successful. Those who are concerned about the process hitting a standstill or the license application being rejected, or who simply do not have the time for this level of paperwork, can contact a third-party service, such as Beverage License Specialists, to complete the application on their behalf.
Monroe County Liquor License
Types of Liquor Licenses Available in Monroe County
There are many types of beer and wine and liquor licenses available, so it’s important to know the differences between each type of license. If you accidentally file the wrong application, your application may be denied and you may have to start the process over again from the beginning. This can delay the process, so it is worth learning about each type of license available, along with the associated fees:
- 1COP – allows for the sale of beer only for on-premise consumption at a bar or restaurant for an annual fee of $280
- 1APS – allows for the sale of beer only for package sales/off-premise consumption for an annual fee of $140
- 2COP – allows for the sale of beer and wine for on-premise consumption at a bar or restaurant for an annual fee of $392
- 2APS – allows for the sale of beer and wine for package sales/off-premise consumption for an annual fee of $196
- 3PS – allows for the sale of beer, wine, and spirits at a package liquor store/off-premise consumption for an annual fee of $1,365
- 4COP – allows for the sale of beer, wine, and spirits for on-premise consumption at a bar or restaurant for an annual fee of $1,820
In addition, in order to obtain issuance of a temporary beer & wine license or liquor license as fast as possible, there are additional fees required by the DABT. The temporary license fees are as follows:
- New 1APS is $100
- New 2APS is $100
- New 1COP is $100
- New 2COP is $100
- New 3PS is $341.25
- New 4COP is $455
In Monroe County, you may also qualify for a 4COP/SFS, formerly known as an SRX license. These licenses allow your restaurant to serve beer, wine, and spirits as long as the following conditions are met:
- You run a bonafide restaurant
- Depending upon the municipality, you will need to have a minimum of 2,500-4,000 square feet of space
- Again depending upon the specific municipality, you must be able to serve 150-200 patrons at a time
- At least 51 percent or greater of your gross sales must be derived from the sale of food and non-alcoholic beverages
Completing the Liquor License Application
When you are applying for a beer and wine license or liquor license, Florida has specific requirements that must be met. Most of these are mandatory, and fulfilling each step is critical to having your application processed quickly. While each step depends on the type of license you are applying for, there are a few common elements you are likely going to need to provide:
- Information about yourself as well as other officers, directors, and shareholders
- Any arrest history if you or any other applicant has a criminal record
- Social Security information for all applicants
- Your Florida document registration number
- Your company’s federal employer’s identification number
- A floor plan sketch of your business space
- Sales & Use tax registration with the Florida Dep. of Revenue
- Zoning approval from the municipality you are seeking to operate in
Depending on the type of establishment you are running, you may also need to get approval from the following agencies:
- Divisions of Hotels and Restaurants, for businesses that prepare and serve food such as bars and restaurants
- Department of Health, for businesses that do not prepare food
Failure to provide all of the information requested could result in the denial of your application. To ensure the highest likelihood that your application will be approved with no questions asked, it may be best to hire a third-party service to help you every step of the way.
How Can Beverage License Specialists Help
Obtaining a Monroe County liquor license or beer and wine license can be complicated. If this information seems overwhelming, confusing, or simply too much work, there are ways to obtain a license without stress. We have over 30 years of experience making sure that clients like you obtain the licensing you to need to keep your business flourishing.
If you’re looking to apply for a beer and wine license or liquor license, contact us at Beverage License Specialists to help you with your application.
We make sure that the right forms are filed, are sensitive to grand openings and deadlines, and ensure any follow-ups with officials from the city, county or the state are performed in a timely way. Give us a call or visit us online to learn more today.
Choosing the Alcoholic Beverage License for Your Business
Which type of license will work best in your situation? If you want to focus solely on beer sales, the 1APS or 1COP licenses are the only available options. However, you may wish to consider a wider selection of beverages that can bring in an exponential amount of sales.
These licenses are applied for through the state, in which Florida will collect an annual fee and an application fee for a new license. Another option to keep in mind is a quota. Quota licenses are made available by the state of Florida based on quota increases in population. Based upon the population in a given county, there are a limited number of licenses issued. One new license is made available for each increase in the population of 7500 people. Bars and nightclubs that serve more than 49% of their gross sales in alcoholic beverages will require a quota liquor license. Retail package liquor stores also will require a quota liquor license.
If your business model is to be a restaurant or foodservice establishment that will sell 51% or greater in the sale of food and non-alcoholic beverages and has the prescribed square footage and equipped to serve the required number of patrons, you may qualify for a 4COP/SFS (special food service license). Unlike the quota license, there’s an infinite amount of 4COP/SFS licenses available. Be sure to work with our license professionals if you have more questions about quotas, special food service licenses, and beer & wine licenses for your Florida Panhandle location.
It is in your best interest to contact the professionals at Beverage License Specialists and explain to us where you intend to open. Depending upon the location and whether it has already been approved for wet zoning, this is another requirement to get approval for alcoholic beverage sales for your intended location. It is these intricacies and special requirements that our licensing professionals can help walk you through to achieve the right alcoholic beverage license for your business.
Buying and Selling Liquor Licenses in the Florida Panhandle Area
The application process for any type of alcoholic beverage license can be long and tedious. Whether you’re starting a new restaurant or opening a new location in any one of the above-mentioned counties in the Florida Panhandle, it can be difficult to find the time to submit a full application.
Our dedicated team at Beverage License Specialists is able to assist you with our extensive knowledge of the local and state requirements. Focus your energy on getting your new restaurant, liquor store, or bar off the ground, and let our licensing experts navigate the application process for you.
If you’re ready to relocate from the county or close down your business, we can also help you sell your liquor license. We will assist with navigating the process to ensure a professional and efficient transfer of your license.
New Florida Liquor License Application Process
First, you need to fill out an application.
District Office Review
Once you’ve completed the extensive list of application materials required for the first step, you’ll need to wait for the district office to review your application.
Once your alcoholic beverage license initial materials are accepted, processed, and license issued, an on-site inspection may be required to ensure your location is in compliance with the State requirements.
Get a Team to Support the Process
It’s important to have a professional team like Beverage License Specialists engaged to facilitate and monitor the licensing process for you. Click here to view the services we offer.
Financing Your Florida Monroe Area Liquor License
While owning a liquor store or restaurant can be a lucrative business, many small business owners may find themselves struggling to pay for the acquisition of the license. Whether you’re in the middle of a financially rocky season or want to hold on to your working capital, consider liquor license financing.
Using the quota liquor license as collateral, our financing partners can enable you to acquire a quota liquor license without the initial financial burden of a large lump sum. Choose from a range of long-term or short-term options to acquire your quota license and get your business off the ground and running smoothly.
Navigate the Process With Beverage License Specialists
Of course, your business will need many more licenses in order to become fully operational in any of the Florida Panhandle Area counties. Browse our extensive list of licensing matters that we can handle to learn how you can save time and focus on your business. No matter which type of alcoholic beverage license you are in need of, contact us to get started with all your licensing needs. Once you secure your alcoholic beverage license in the Florida Panhandle area, you’re ready to open your location, advertise effectively, and create a popular meeting place for your local community.
Are you still early in the process? Click here to view our blog, which answers a lot of common questions!
Hire a Beverage License Specialist
If your business is looking to sell alcohol, make sure to contact Beverage License Specialists today. Our customer-focused, deeply knowledgeable team is available by phone.
We also offer free consultations by email at info@BeverageLicenseSpecialist.com.
Give us a call at 954-369-5858